Skip to main content


Helen Parr, formerly deputy principal of North Hertfordshire College, Stevenage, became principal of Colchester Institute upon the retirement of John Threlfall after 12 years in the post.

Michael Sant, formerly bursar of Downe House School, Berkshire, is the new general secretary of the Independent Schools' Bursars Association, which has moved to: 5 Chapel Close, Old Basing, Basingstoke, Hampshire RG24 7BY.

Tameside A-level students Jennifer Chadwick from Ashton-under-Lyne Sixth Form College, and Madhusudhan Roy, of Hyde Clarendon College, have been awarded Tom Pendry University Scholarships worth up to pound;10,000. These new annual awards are sponsored by the Stamford Group of Companies of Stalybridge in association with Tom Pendry MP for Stalybridge and Hyde, and Tameside education authority.

First prize in the Partnership in Focus competition (for teacher placement photographs) was won by Alistair McColl, of Copleston High School, Suffolk, for his placement with Manganese Bronze Components (photograph taken by Douglas Atfield). Chris Craig, of Barrs School, Hereford, won the award for best young photographer under 18. The competition is run by Understanding British Industry with the support of Agfa UK.

Simon Tavernini (20) and James Watson (18), of Bournemouth and Poole College of Further Education, have won the Nestle Toque d'Or (golden hat), the catering industry's premier award for student chefs.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you