Skip to main content

Pupils win their place in history;Curriculum

The winners of the 1999 school history award from the Scottish Association of Teachers of History and Hodder and Stoughton are unveiled today at Stirling Castle.

Each year entries are invited from pupils investigating an aspect of Scottish history. The judges were: Marion Fry, education officer for Historic Scotland, Willis Pickard, editor of TES Scotland, and Jim McGonigle, SATH vice-president and principal teacher of history at Hermitage Academy, Helensburgh.

The Primary 6-7 winner is Fraser McNab, High School of Glasgow. Runner-up is Neale Dutton, also of the High School.

Winner of the Secondary 1-2 category is Winnie Ho, Dumfries Academy. Runner-up is Michael Bain, Broughton High, Edinburgh.

Winner of the Secondary 3-4 group is Ishbel Maclean, Castlebay School, Barra. Runner-up is Linda Riddett, Dumfries Academy.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you