Skip to main content

Recommended reading

His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman Scholastic, pound;19

The Water Babies by Charles Kingsley Penguin, pound;1.25

The Princess and the Goblin, The Princess and Curdie, At the Back of the North Wind, The Wise Woman by George MacDonald Eerdmans, pound;8.99

The Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis Collins, pound;14.99

The Time Quartet by Madeleine L'Engle Delacorte Press, pound;16.77

The Earthsea Quartet by Ursula Le Guin Puffin, pound;10.99

The Stone Book Quartet by Alan Garner Puffin, pound;6.99

The Dark is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper Puffin, pound;14.99

Llandor Trilogy by Louise Lawrence

Deptford Mice Trilogy by Robin Jarvis

Harry Potter sequence by JK Rowling

The Natural History of Make-Believe by John Goldthwaite Oxford University Press, pound;20

The first four volumes of Fay Sampson's fantasy sequence, Pangur Ban, Finnglas of the Horses, Finnglas and the Stones of Choosing, and Shape-Shifter, were re-issued by Lion this year. The others are The Serpent of Senargad and The White Horse is Running. Her new fantasy THEM will be published by Lion next April

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you