Revealed: The leaders reviewing headteacher standards

Chair of commission into ethical leadership in education appointed to DfE advisory panel

Martin George

The DfE has appointed an advisory group to review the headteacher standards.

The Department for Education has appointed an advisory group to review the headteacher standards for the first time since 2015.

The panel includes the leader of a commission that drew up an ethical framework to help guide the work of education leaders.

The group will be led by Malcolm Trobe, the former interim general secretary of the Association of School and College Leaders (ASCL), and includes representatives of academies and governors, and the leaders of the two headteachers’ unions.

Quick read: Does your head meet these new ethical standards?

Advice: Heads ‘should challenge each other’ to end off-rolling

Ethics: 'End exam tricks and willy-nilly off-rolling,' heads told

Headteacher standards underpin best practice for heads and school leaders in recruitment, appraisal and training.

The DfE said the review will include ensuring the standards reflect how the sector has evolved since the last review, alongside how the standards can be best embedded in the sector.

Mr Trobe said: “Both the profession and society rightly have high expectations of those that lead our schools and it is important that the standards accurately reflect those expectations.”

The panel includes Carolyn Roberts, headteacher of Thomas Tallis School, Greenwich, who chaired ASCL’s ethical leadership commission, which published its findings in January.

It drew up seven principles, including selflessness, openness and honesty, and seven personal characteristics, including wisdom, kindness and justice.

The group will report to ministers with recommendations for the updated standards by November 2019, with the standards to be revised for the beginning of the academic year 2020-21.

The full membership of the advisory group is:

  • Malcolm Trobe (Chair), director of the National Professional Qualification for Executive Leadership, ASCL; interim executive director, Foundation for Leadership in Education.
  • Leora Cruddas (Vice Chair), CEO, Confederation of School Trusts.
  • Mufti Hamid Patel, CEO, Star Academies.
  • Lesley Powell, executive headteacher, Academy at Shotton Hall; CEO, North East Learning Trust.
  • Carolyn Roberts, headteacher, Thomas Tallis School, Greenwich.
  • Sarah Wilson, headteacher, Joseph Norton Academy, Huddersfield.
  • Lauren Costello, national director for primary and SEND, Academies Enterprise Trust.
  • Geoff Barton, general secretary, ASCL.
  • Paul Whiteman, general secretary, NAHT.
  • Tom Rees, executive director of school leadership, Ambition Institute; education director of Northampton Primary Academy Trust.
  • Emma Knights, CEO, National Governance Association.
  • Stuart Lock, executive principal of Advantage Schools.

Register to continue reading for free

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you

Martin George

Martin George

Martin George is a reporter at Tes

Find me on Twitter @geomr

Latest stories


Coronavirus and schools: LIVE 25/9

A one-stop shop for teachers who want to know what impact the ongoing pandemic will have on their working lives
Tes Reporter 25 Sep 2020