Watch: Carnegie and Kate Greenaway children's book awards announced today

20th June 2016 at 11:45
carnegie and kate greenaway awards

The winners of the Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals, the UK’s oldest and most prestigious children’s book awards were announced today.

You can watch the ceremony at London’s British Library here

There are eight shortlisted authors for each award and thousands of school and book groups around the country have been shadowing the awards by reading, discussing and reviewing the shortlisted books.

The Carnegie Medal was first awarded in 1936. Past winners include CS Lewis, Philip Pullman, Meg Rosoff and Sally Gardner. The Kate Greenaway Medal, which is for illustration has been won by Shirley Hughes, Anthony Browne and Quentin Blake. It was first awarded in 1956. The awards are sponsored by CILIP (the Charted Institute of Library and Information Professionals).

Last year, the Carnegie Medal went to Tanya Landman for Buffalo Soldier and the Kate Greenaway Medal was awarded to William Grill for Shackleton’s Journey.


Related Content

Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today