Skip to main content

Teachers honoured in TES Schools Awards

Teachers have been honoured for their hard work and commitment to their pupils and wider communities in the UK’s premier education awards.

The TES Schools Awards recognise the dedication and skill of school staff in helping students achieve both inside and outside the classroom. And the judges noted that a central theme of many of the winners was their willingness to share their skills and expertise with colleagues.

Today’s ceremony, hosted by comedian and BBC's Outnumbered star Hugh Dennis at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge in London, celebrated all that is outstanding in education, from the efforts of individual teachers to the work of schools.

The award for Overall School of the Year went to Bohunt School in Liphook, Hampshire. Top ranked academically, the school ensures all students achieve, regardless of their background, and has a highly-praised strategy for helping pupils on free school meals.

Bohunt, also named Secondary School of the Year, is well-known for its use of innovative practice, including inviting businesses into school to run "career-readying" lessons. The judges also noted the school’s commitment to working with primaries and other secondaries.

“Bohunt believes in collaboration over competition,” their citation read. “And it has much to offer those who accept its help.”

St Mary’s Church of England Primary, in the heart of Manchester’s Moss Side district, was named Primary School of the Year for its success in both helping pupils achieve in challenging perceptions about its estate.

A few years ago, the school was bottom of the North West league tables for primaries, but is now in the top 2 per cent for progress in reading and top 7 per cent in maths. “This is a school with a determined attitude that not only achieves wonderful results for its pupils but also challenges stereotypes about its catchment and local area,” the judges said.

Special needs school of the year was Longdon Hall School. The school, in Longdon Green, Staffordshire, was set up just three years ago but has already been recognised as “conspicuously successful” by Ofsted.

Meanwhile, Ann Maguire, the teacher killed in front of her pupils earlier this year, was honoured with a special award for Services to Education.

Steve Mort, headteacher of Corpus Christi Catholic College in Leeds where Mrs Maguire spent her entire teaching career, said she was an outstanding teacher and an inspiration to colleagues and well-known for her commitment to her students.

“It is impossible to fully express in words the contribution that she made to Corpus Christi over the past 40 years, or to calculate the profound effect she has had on the lives of colleagues and on the young minds and hearts of her pupils,” he said. “It was a privilege to work with her.”

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Howard Wood, who is retiring this summer after 37 years at Oathall Community College in West Sussex. The judges noted his dedication to his students and lauded his work in developing the school farm, which has been integrated into the curriculum across all subjects.

“Howard Wood is a wonderful teacher with an extraordinary track record working on the most brilliant project,” the judges said. “What he has achieved with Oathall’s school farm is a wonderfully tangible monument to a fantastic career.”


Full list of TES Schools Award winners:

Services to Education

Ann Maguire

Overall School of the Year

Bohunt School, Liphook, Hampshire

Primary School of the Year

St Mary’s Church of England Primary, Manchester

Secondary School of the Year

Bohunt School, Liphook, Hampshire

Special Needs School of the Year

Longdon Hall School, Longdon Green, Staffordshire

Inspirational Teacher of the Year

Aileen Mullen, Donaldson’s School, Linlithgow

Ed Tech

New Pasture Lane Primary School, Bridlington


Queen Anne High School, Dunfermline


Sevenoaks School, Kent

Literacy and English

Eastbury Comprehensive School, Barking, London

Bev Evans Resource Contributor of the Year

Mike Pye

Sport and Healthy Eating

Pallister Park Primary School, Middlesbrough


Sir Robert Geffery’s School, Saltash, Cornwall

Enterprise and Community

Treviglas Community College, Newquay, Cornwall

Numeracy and Maths

Ark Attwood Primary Academy, Westminster, London

Headteacher of the year

Jayne Clarke, Ryecroft Primary Academy, Bradford

Lifetime Achievement

Howard Wood, Oathall Community College, West Sussex





Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you