Age of chivalry

11th November 2005 at 00:00
Charlemagne's Code of Chivalry (8th century ad) listed the duties of a knight as:

* To fear God and maintain His Church

* To serve the liege lord in valour and faith

* To protect the weak and defenceless

* To give succour to widows and orphans

* To refrain from the wanton giving of offence

* To live by honour and for glory

* To despise pecuniary reward

* To fight for the welfare of all

* To obey those placed in authority

* To guard the honour of fellow knights

* To eschew unfairness, meanness and deceit

* To keep faith

* At all times to speak the truth

* To persevere to the end in any enterprise begun

* To respect the honour of women

* Never to refuse a challenge from an equal

* Never to turn the back upon a foe.

Six centuries later, in the Order of the Golden Fleece, the Duke of Burgundy defined the knight's 12 chivalric virtues as: faith, charity, justice, sagacity, prudence, temperance, resolution, truth, liberality, diligence, hope and valour.


Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today