The all-time physics hero

3rd September 2004 at 01:00
Sir Joseph Swan, inventor of the first practical light bulb, has been named British physics hero of all time by the Institute of Physics. Members produced a top 10 list of physicists to promote activities it will be holding in 2005, which is both Einstein year and world year of physics.

Sir Joseph was followed on the list by Sir Edward Appleton, Sir Isaac Newton, Michael Faraday, Paul Dirac, John Flamstead, William Robert Grove, Sir Ernest Rutherford, John Dalton and James Clerk Maxwell.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now