Angel delights

27th February 2004 at 00:00
If you thought that an angel was an angel was an angel, with perhaps the occasional archangel more prominent that the rest, then think again.

Judaism laid down a complex heavenly hierarchy, comprising seven archangels - Uriel, Raphael, Raguel, Michael, Sariel, Gabriel and Remiel - together with the seraphim and cherubim and countless lesser angels.

Seraphim, the highest-ranking angels, stand closest to the throne of God, and praise him constantly. Then come the cherubim, whose responsibilities include such special missions as expelling man from Eden and telling Mary that she would bare a son. Oh, and some believe Satan was a cherub, before his rebellion.

The numbers, size, ranking and physical (or non-physical) appearance of angels have kept theologians arguing for centuries and provided endless inspiration for artists. However, the benign beings shown in paintings bear little resemblance to the terrifying beings described in the Bible - beings that clearly had their origins in the fierce and monstrous cherubim of Assyrian mythology.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today