11th December 1998 at 00:00

Twelve teachers have won national awards, sponsored by the Institute of Electrical Engineering and the National Electronics Council, for their work in science and technology. They are: James Armstrong, Inverkeithing High School, Fife; Phil Boocock, All Hallows Roman Catholic High School, Preston; Andrew Byrom, Gravesend Grammar School for Boys, Kent; Alison Eley, The Queen's School, Kew; Jean Felton, St Peter's Primary School, Jersey; Trevor Hill, Taunton School, Somerset; Emma Hitch, Chambersbury Primary School, Hemel Hempstead; Michael James, The Community College, Bishop's Castle, Shropshire; Jean Johnson, Walthamstow School for Girls, London; Robin Jones, Denbigh High School, Denbigh; Jean Mirfield, School of St Helen and St Katharine, Abingdon, Oxfordshire; and Julian Rogers, Penair School, St Clement, Cornwall.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today