The awards

21st October 2005 at 01:00
Healthy school: Stoughton infant, Guildford

Outstanding new teacher: Christine Finnegan, St Hubert's Roman Catholic primary, Warley, West Midlands

Primary teacher of the year: Trevelyan May, Sholing junior, Southampton

For working with business and the community: Andrew Morris, West Croft special school and sports college, Wolverhampton

Primary headteacher of the year: Angela Rawlinson, St James Church of England junior, Barrow-in-Furness

Special needs teacher of the year: Meinir Rees, Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Plasmawr, Cardiff

Teaching assistant of the year: Helen Skelton, Bracken Lane primary, Retford, Nottinghamshire

Secondary teacher of the year: Mike Ullmann, Hockerill Anglo-European college, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire

Secondary head of the year: Richard Wallis, Sandwich technology school, Sandwich, Kent

Lifetime achievement: Peter Wright, Hazel Oak school, Solihull

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today