Education figures in New Year honours

4th January 2008 at 00:00
KNIGHTHOOD - Alasdair Macdonald, headteacher, Morpeth School, Tower Hamlets, London

ORDER OF THE BATH (CB) - Dr Jeanette Pugh, director, safeguarding group, DCSF.

DAME - Jacqueline Wilson, author and former children's laureate (above).


Graham Badman, director of children's services, Kent; Robert Green, former director of inspectorate reform, Ofsted; Keith Hargrave, former headteacher, The Canterbury High School, Kent.


David Butler, chief executive, National Confederation of Parent Teacher Associations; Anthony Davies, managing director, Focus Education UK; Sandie Dixie, head, Greenhill Primary, Oldham; Victor Galyer, headteacher, Challney High for Boys, Luton; Dr Michael Grainger, former headteacher, Barnard Castle Church of England Primary, Durham; Sister Brigid Halligan, headteacher, Bellerive FCJ Catholic College, Liverpool; Roy Harrison, chair of governors, Thomas Telford School; Eric Hill, author and illustrator of Spot; Robert Jervis, former head, Lakelands School, Ellesmere, Shropshire; Kathleen Lemaire, chief executive, School Library Association; Jeanne Monckton, former head, Watling Street Primary, Walsall; Jean Orridge, head, High Clarence Primary, Stockton-on-Tees; Delia Smith, head, St Angela's Ursuline School, Newham, east London; Professor Geoffrey Southworth, deputy chief executive, National College of School Leadership; Kashaf Walayat, head of service improvement and operations, chief information officers group, DCSF.


John Allen, chair of governors, Bury Church of England High, Lancashire; Malcolm Broad, governor, Patchway Community College, Bristol; Vivien Crouch, school nurse, Bath; John Edwards, former site manager Alverstoke Church of England Junior, Hampshire; Joyce Fann, welfare supervisor, Farnborough Road Junior, Southport; David Goldsmith, former teacher, Lord Wandsworth College, Hampshire; Roger Harrison, head coach, Widnes Schools Rugby League; Elaine Heal, catering manager Teignmouth Community College, Devon. Ralph Henderson, deputy head, William Edwards School, Essex; Maureen May, teaching assistant, Slade Green Infants, Bexley, Kent; John Oaker, former deputy head, Alumwell Junior, Walsall; Anne Parry, volunteer assistant, Camelsdale First School, Haslemere, Surrey; Peter Passam, school governor, Hackney; Elizabeth Renshaw, business manager, Woodchurch High, Wirral; Richard Sams, chair of governors, the Malling School and Holmesdale Technology College Federation, Kent. Dorothy Thompson, school crossing warden, North Shields; Grenville Tuck, caretaker, Coombe Hill Infant and Junior Schools, Kingston-Upon-Thames; Lucy Vale, school crossing warden, Dorridge, West Midlands; David Wadkin, vice-chair of governors, Oakwood Technology College, Rotherham; Diane Warrick, nursery nurse, Millbank Primary, Westminster, London; Shirley Waving, teaching assistant, St. Mary's Primary, Lewisham, London; Dorothy Winner, catering assistant and cleaner, Northgate High, Norfolk.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now