Education-related honours in England and Wales

5th January 2007 at 00:00
KNIGHTHOOD Keith Ajegbo, former head, Deptford Green school, Lewisham, south London

ORDER OF THE BATH Maurice Smith, former chief inspector of schools; Peter Wanless, director of school performance, DfES

DAME Yasmin Bevan (below), head, Denbigh high, Luton, Bedfordshires

CBE Susan Barratt, head, Bournville junior, Birmingham; Dr George Berwick, head, Ravens Wood school, Bromley, south-east London; Mabel Davis, head, Heathlands special school, Herts

OBE Richard Aust, head, Chadsgrove special school, Worcs; Anthony Campbell, principal, St Richards Catholic college, Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex; Margaret Clark, emeritus professor of education, Birmingham University; John d'Abbro (above), head, New Rush Hall special school, Redbridge, north-east London; Neil Davies, former chair, National Governors' Council and co-chair, National Governors' Association; Huw Evans, former head, Watchfield primary, Oxon; Patricia Johnson, former head, Hopwood primary, Rochdale; Martin Norfield, Esol adviser, DfES; Thomas Peryer, director of education, London Diocesan Board for Schools; Janet Roberts head, All Saints junior, Fleet, Hants; Kenneth Shooter, lead adviser, specialist schools programme, DfES; Graham Taylor, former head, Downs school, Newbury, Berks; Adrian Underwood, former national director, Boarding Schools'


MBE Barbara Bell, former chair of governors, Lady Adrian special school, Cambridge; Anthea Cooper, teacher, Collis primary, Teddington, Middlesex; Raymond Curtis, foundation governor, Ampney Crucis primary, Gloucestershire; Wendy Deakin, bursar, Cledford junior, Middlewich, Cheshire Hilary Joan Farley, former head, Gladstone primary, Barry, Wales; Glynis Farrell, specialist music teacher, Holwell primary, Hertfordshire; Evelyn Gittens, former school crossing warden, Halton Borough Council, Cheshire; Stephen Grainger, chief executive, Youth Sport Trust; Mary Terese Hanna, midday supervisor, St James's primary, Twickenham, west London; Ann Hilton, teacher, Dame Janet community junior school, Ramsgate, Kent; Gregory Hinds, chair of governors, St Alban's high, Pontypool, Wales; Ronald Hitchens, teacher, Roskear school, Camborne, Cornwall; Mary Jackson, supply teacher, Shanklin primary, Isle of Wight; Gareth Elwyn Jones, emeritus professor of education, Swansea University; Kenneth Kelley, bandmaster, Burghclere primary brass band, Berkshire Geoffrey Parsons, teacher, Vyners school, Hillingdon, west London; Stanley William Pike, former deputy head, Bosmere junior, Hampshire; Adrienne Smith, assistant head, The North school, Ashford, Kent; Dr John Trigg, vice-principal, Tomlinscote school, Frimley, Surrey; Florence Tristram, governor, Oliver Goldsmith primary, Southwark, south London; Michael Tyler, chair of governors, Osmani primary, Tower Hamlets, east London; Susan Wade, teaching assistant, Hethersett high, Norfolk

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now