Eleven 'critical factors' to watch

15th December 2000 at 00:00
The exam system is set for three more years of uncertainty as the SQA struggles to get it right, reports Neil Munro

NEXT year's exams should be judged by 11 "critical success factors". The litmus tests for the SQA are that:

Qualifications are in place.

Assessment materials are available.

Markers are contracted and validated.

Quality assurance of schools and other centres is established.

The quality of qualifictions is assured.

Resources are complete for the job.

Exam centres confirm data on candidate registration, entries and results.

The SQA's process controls are defined.

The IT system is "stabilised".

"Integrity audits" are defined.

Correct certificates are issued on time.

The critical success factors will be subject to a "traffic light summary" with any items marked red given special attention.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar, Buyagift.com, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today