Kennedy is chosen

27th September 1996 at 01:00
Barrister Helena Kennedy QC is to chair a new committee set up to review further education funding.

The group, set up by the Further Education Funding Council, also includes principals John Guy of Farnborough Sixth Form College, David Henderson of Priestley College, Nick Lewis of Broxtowe, Howard Petch of Bishop Burton, Ruth Silver of Lewisham, Brian Styles of City of Bristol and Russell Woodrow of Stanmore.

Other members include John Brennan of the Association of Colleges, Derek Betts of the lecturers' union NATFHE, Stephen Crowne, chief executive of the Further Education Development Agency, and representatives from training and enterprise councils, the CBI and adult education.

The review timetable follows the pattern which created the complex FE funding method. The committee will issue recommendations by December, which will then be put out to consultation and considered by the FEFC in time for guidance to be issued to colleges in December 1997.

Ms Kennedy already chairs the FEFC's widening participation committee. The council says that the committee's recommendations, together with those of the Tomlinson Committee's report on special needs, will inform changes to the funding method.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now