National engineering awards

2nd May 1997 at 01:00
The winners of the TESEngineering Council Neighbourhood Engineers Schools of the Year award, announced at the SHA conference, are: National winner (Pounds 1,000): Turves Green Girls School, Birmingham

Distinguished commendation (Pounds 500):

Carisbrooke High School (Isle of Wight)

Sunbury Manor School (Surrey)

Wolsingham Comprehensive (Durham)

Highly commended:

Carr Hill High School (Lancs)

Churchdown School (Gloucs)

Cranborne Middle School (Dorset)

Eresby Special School (Lincs)

Lytchett Minster School (Dorset)

Other finalists:

Beaverwood School for Girls (Kent)

Chapel-en-le-Frith High School (Derbyshire)

Wilmington Girls Grammar (Kent)

King's Manor (Middlesbrough) Sidmouth College (Devon)

Teignmouth Community College (Devon)

Priory School (Kent)

Ridgeway School (Wilts)

Next week, TES2 reports

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today