New line-up for Commons body

29th March 1996 at 00:00
The line-up for the new Commons select committee on education and employment includes the Liberal Democrat spokesman on education, Don Foster, and Margaret Hodge, one of Labour's education policy theorists.

The committee has been formed to shadow the merged departments of education and employment and will be chaired by Sir Malcolm Thornton, the former chair of the education select committee.

Conservative members are: Harry Greenway, Iain Mills, David Nicholson, Warren Hawksley, Sir Ralph Howell, and David Porter. Other Labour members are Edward O'Hara, Ernie Ross, David Jamieson, and Gerry Steinberg.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now