New unitary authorities plan

24th March 1995 at 00:00
Parliament is to be asked to approve the creation of 15 education authorities based on large towns. The latest announcement from John Gummer, Environment Secretary, recommends unitary authorities based in Derby, Stoke-on-Trent, Nottingham, Leicester, Portsmouth, Southampton, Plymouth, Torbay, Bournemouth, Poole, Southend, Reading, Slough, Brighton and Hove and Thamesdown (Swindon).

He also recommends the abolition of Berkshire and its replacement by six unitary authorities. The county of Hereford and Worcester is to be split into two counties based on their historic boundaries. That decision could mean Mr Gummer will also agree to the creation of Huntingdonshire and its split from Cambridgeshire.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now