12th December 1997 at 00:00
Matthew McIver, rector of the Royal High School, Edinburgh, will become deputy registrar (education) of the General Teaching Council for Scotland in February when Victor Bourne takes early retirement.

Jeanne Coburn will become principal and chief executive of Huddersfield Technical College in January. She is currently acting principal.

John Griffith, formerly senior manager responsible for NatWest branches in the Mansfield area, has been appointed chief executive of Drug Abuse Resistance Education (UK).

The South Bank University, London SE1, has awarded honorary degrees (D. Litt) to: Melvyn Bragg, writer and broadcaster, Julia McKenzie, musical actress, Sir Michael Heron, Post Office chairman, and Professor Anthony Giddens, director, London School of Economics and "Britain's most famous social scientist since Keynes".

University College, Suffolk, has awarded honorary degrees to: Trevor Nunn, director of the National Theatre and director emeritus of the Royal Shakespeare Company (D.Litt), and to Bobby Robson, former England and Ipswich Town Manager (MA).

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now