29th September 1995 at 01:00
Tom Wylie, assistant director of inspection at OFSTED, will become director of the National Youth Agency in January succeeding Janet Paraskeva, who became director for England of the National Lottery Charities Board in June.

Andrew Trotman, formerly deputy rector of the Edinburgh Academy, has been appointed head of St Peter's School, York, following the retirement of Robin Pittman after ten years in the post. Edward "Teddy" Denison OBE, a former leader of North Yorkshire County Council and an "old boy" of the school, is the new chair of governors.

This year's Michael Faraday Award goes to Professor Ian Stewart, director of the Interdisciplinary Mathematical Research Programme, Warwick University, and Gresham professor of geometry, Gresham College, London EC2. The Royal Society has conferred the award in recognition of his work in communicating mathematical ideas to a wide audience through public lectures in schools and industry, books and magazine articles and radio and television presentations.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today