30th January 1998 at 00:00
George Phipson, chair of the Association of Heads of Grant Maintained Schools and head of West Hatch GM School, Essex, has been appointed to the Funding Agency for Schools from April 1.

Jane Drabble has been made a fellow of the Royal Television Society in recognition of her 29 years' service to the BBC and her current role as BBC director of education.

Dr Stuart MacDonald, formerly Glasgow 1999's education director and prior to that a senior adviser in art and design for Strathclyde education service, is now director at The Lighthouse Scotland's centre for architecture, design and the city.

Daphne St C Cawthorne has taken over as head of Wakefield Girls' High School (junior school) from Dianne Robinson, who has moved to Warwick Preparatory School.

Peter Lobban, director of change management for Royal Dutch Shell, is to be chief executive of the Construction Industry Training Board from April 1 upon the retirement of Ted Willmott.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now