19th May 1995 at 01:00
Valerie Shawcross has succeeded Trevor Laffin as chair of education at Croydon Council. She was formerly committee vice-chair.

John Hyde, head of St Hugh of Lincoln School, Stretford, Manchester, has been appointed secretary of the National Primary Headteachers' Association, replacing Sue Barker, who has resigned due to school commitments.

Barbara Bell, a classics teacher at Bristol Grammar School, has been appointed executive secretary of the Joint Association of Classical Teachers.

Lady Beatrice Crawford is the new bailiff of the Schools of King Edward VI in Birmingham. She succeeds Barry Shale and will hold the post for a year.

Heads of the 35 schools belonging to the Woodard Corporation have formed the Woodard Heads' Association. Its first chairman is to be David Exham, head of Bloxham School, near Banbury, Oxfordshire.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now