2nd August 1996 at 01:00
John Ferguson has retired as director of education for Cambridgeshire.

Cambridge University has awarded the following honorary degrees: doctor of letters (DLitt) to Jonathan Miller, stage and film director; doctor of science (DSc) to Jocelyn Bell Burnell, professor of physics, the Open University, and Antony Hewish, emeritus professor of radioastronomy, Cambridge, for their work on the discovery of pulsars; and doctor of laws (LLD) to Sir Alan Cottrell, formerly master of Jesus College, and vice-chancellor of the university, and Dame Rosalyn Higgins, a judge of the international court and professor of international law at the London School of Economics.

Exeter University has awarded the following honorary degrees: DLitt to Professor Timothy Brighouse, director of education for Birmingham, and Sir Alan Bowness, the art historian; LLD to Sir David Calcutt QC, chancellor of the diocese of Exeter, Dame Stella Rimington, director-general of the Security Service, and Judge Stephen Tumim, former Chief Inspector of Prisons; DSc to Professor Richard Gregory, the psychologist and president of the Exploratory Hands-on Science Centre at Bristol; and doctor of divinity to the Rt Revd David Sheppard, Bishop of Liverpool.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now