26th April 1996 at 01:00
Jenny Cairns, formerly assistant director (schools' services) for Merton, has been promoted to the post of director of education, leisure and libraries.

Teresa Rees, professor of labour market studies at Bristol University, has been appointed a commissioner of the Equal Opportunities Commission, with special responsibility for Wales, for two years from June 1.

In East Sussex, Brian Aikens, formerly head of Wallands Primary School, Lewes, has been appointed head of Willingdon Primary School, Eastbourne. Fran Huff, formerly acting head of Christchurch School, St Leonards, is now head of Sir Henry Fermor School, Crowborough.

The following new members to the board of the Funding Agency for Schools have been announced: Cynthia Lake, honorary secretary of the National Governors Council, Professor David Newton, vice-principal and dean of the school of business studies at the Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester, and Arthur Pollard, a former professor of English literature and language at Hull University.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today