18th April 1997 at 01:00
The College of Preceptors has conferred honorary fellowships upon: David Bisbrown, former principal of Hillcrest School and Community, Dudley, former chair of the College's Midlands region and long-serving member of its council and academic board; Sir John Daniel, vice-chancellor, Open University; Dr Beve Hornsby, principal, Hornsby International Dyslexia Centre; Ludwig Lowenstein, educational psychologist and College of Preceptors examiner for more than 30 years; Ken Ridley, former dean of teaching, professional and management studies, College of Ripon and York, St John; and Geoff Stanton, former head of the Further Education Unit.

Sir Robin Chichester-Clark has replaced Professor Brian Cox as chairman of the Arvon Foundation, which runs residential writing courses. He joined the foundation in 1995 as chairman of its newly-established development committee.

Ruth Maxwell has retired, having taught at Stepney's St Mary and St Michael Primary School, Tower Hamlets, for 49 years.

Recruit plc Education Services has opened a new education centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne. It will be run by Marcia Haigh, who formerly worked for West Yorkshire, and Anne King, an experienced administrator.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today