Posthumous award for poet;In brief

29th January 1999 at 00:00
TED Hughes, the late Poet Laureate, this week became the first writer to win the Whitbread Book of the Year twice for Birthday Letters, published by Faber. The Whitbread Children's Book of the Year award went to David Almond for his first novel for teenagers, Skellig, published by Hodder.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today