Pupils win their place in history;Curriculum

1st October 1999 at 01:00
The winners of the 1999 school history award from the Scottish Association of Teachers of History and Hodder and Stoughton are unveiled today at Stirling Castle.

Each year entries are invited from pupils investigating an aspect of Scottish history. The judges were: Marion Fry, education officer for Historic Scotland, Willis Pickard, editor of TES Scotland, and Jim McGonigle, SATH vice-president and principal teacher of history at Hermitage Academy, Helensburgh.

The Primary 6-7 winner is Fraser McNab, High School of Glasgow. Runner-up is Neale Dutton, also of the High School.

Winner of the Secondary 1-2 category is Winnie Ho, Dumfries Academy. Runner-up is Michael Bain, Broughton High, Edinburgh.

Winner of the Secondary 3-4 group is Ishbel Maclean, Castlebay School, Barra. Runner-up is Linda Riddett, Dumfries Academy.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now