21st May 2004 at 01:00
Scotland's women's junior coxless four team won gold at the Junior International Regatta in Ghent, Belgium. The crew was Kirsten Tolstyko (Aberdeen Schools RA), Hannah McPherson (Aberdeen Schools RA), Stephanie McDowell (George Heriot's) and Louise MacDonald (Glasgow Schools RA).

At the Scottish Annual Rowing Awards, George Heriot's won the crew of the year prize. The crew (Emma Guy, Gemma Lumsden, Stephanie McDowall and Karina Williams) competed for Great Britain in the annual France v GB contest in Nottingham last summer and won gold. Their coach, Nick Rankin, won the coach of the year award for guiding the team to success.

The Junior Oarswoman of the Year award went to Kirsty Myles (George Watson's Coll), who gained GB selection in the double sculls and represented GB at the Coupe de la Jeunesse, where she won a gold and a silver medal.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today