Seven institutions to share almost 300 teacher-training places

20th November 1998 at 00:00
* Seven institutions around the country are to share almost 300 teacher-training places lost when the Open University axed its primary PGCE course.

The places, reallocated by the Teacher Training Agency, will be offered part-time from April 1999 and will all have an element of supported open learning. The OU, one of the main providers of new teachers and one of only three to offer distance learning, dropped the course after failing an inspection.

The agency said 15 institutions bid for 600 places. Successful bids came from the Institute of Education, London (50 places); Liverpool Hope University (50); Sheffield Hallam University (50); University College of St Martin, Lancashire (50); College of Ripon and York St John (40); St Mary's College, Twickenham (30); and Canterbury Christ Church College, Kent (25).

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today