Seven sprinkles of spice

28th May 1999 at 01:00
Deploying seven modes in the middle years is meant to help pupils concentrate on what they are good at or interested in, allowing them to opt for six periods of a subject.

In the S4-S6 curriculum, more pupils would be drawn together for course options and timetabling, removing the age and stage issues in planning Higher Still. The size of some minority subjects would rise and more coherent groups would emerge, reducing teaching at two levels, a concern of staff.

Course changes could be renegotiated between S4 and S5.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today