TES Primary Science Teacher of the Year award

9th January 1998 at 00:00
* The TES Primary Science Teacher of the Year award is run in conjunction with the Association for Science Education and sponsored by Pfizer, the pharmaceutical company. Stuart Ball was to be named national winner at the ASE annual meeting in Liverpool today (January 9). He wins a personal prize of Pounds 500, and Pounds 300 for his school.

Pfizer is heavily involved with primary schools. It provides "link scientists" and grants to support science teaching in schools. It also operates an equipment loan scheme; runs the Kent-based Science Challenge, with a prize of Pounds 500 for the winning school (in co-operation with the 'Kent Messenger' newspaper group); organises teacher placements and training sessions; and offers tours of its plant in Sandwich, Kent

FEATURES TES FRIDAY january 9 1998

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar, Buyagift.com, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today