TES Schools Awards 2009 - Judges panel

12th June 2009 at 01:00
Leaders in various fields of education and specialists with related experience

Professor Derek Bell Head of education at the Wellcome Trust and former chief executive of the Association for Science Education

Sir Tim Brighouse Former Commissioner for London Schools (2002-2007) and former chief education officer for Birmingham (1993-2002) and Oxfordshire (1978-1989)

Professor Keri Facer Institute of Education at Manchester Metropolitan University and former research director of Futurelab

Dame Kelly Holmes Double Olympic Gold medal-winning athlete in 2004

Dr Jeanne Keay Dean of the school of education at Roehampton University, south-west London

Prue Leith, OBE Cook, caterer and chair of the School Food Trust

John May Chief executive of Careers Academies UK

Annette Montague Schools director for the Youth Sport Trust

Robin Nicholson Senior partner at Edward Cullinan Architects and chair of the Zero Carbon Trust

Joan Olivier Retired head of Lady Margaret Secondary School, Parsons Green, west London

Dennis Richards Retired head and winner of a Teaching Awards lifetime achievement

Michael Spinney Head of The Beacon School in Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Sir Cyril Taylor Former government adviser and former chairman of the Specialist Schools and Academies Trust

Malcolm Trobe Policy director of the Association for School and College Leaders and retired head of Malmesbury School, Wiltshire.

TES Schools Awards 2009:


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar, Buyagift.com, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today