Tomlinson in brief

* New diploma system available at four levels: entry, foundation, intermediate and advanced, from 2014.

* Diploma to incorporate all existing exams, including GCSEs, A-levels, vocational qualifications and apprenticeships.

* All diplomas to consist of compulsory "core" of functional literacy, numeracy and computer skills, an extended research or practical project and optional modules modelled on GCSEs, A-levels and vocational courses.

* Diplomas to be awarded on a credit basis, with pupils gaining points for passing courses.

* Pupils take diplomas when they are ready rather than at a set age

* All levels of diploma below advanced assessed mainly by teachers.

* Both diploma and courses within it to be graded.

* Advanced Extension Awards to be incorporated into advanced diplomas, with A+ and A++ grades to distinguish between the most able.

* "Wider activities" such as sport, arts, community work recognised in the diploma.

* Electronic transcripts, setting out details of students' achievements in all courses, to be made available.

* Vocational programmes to be improved and students given better guidance on future options.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now