Who goes where

4th September 1998 at 01:00
Katrina Borowski has been appointed headteacher of Tiverton High School, Devon. Ms Borowski, who takes up her appointment in January, is currently vice principal of Eggbuckland Community College in Plymouth. She succeeds Roger Lambert, a prominent member of the Devon Association of Secondary Heads, who retired at the end of last term after 15 years as a head.

Peter Johnson, formerly head of Wrekin College, Shropshire, has been appointed headmaster of Millfield School, Britain's most expensive public school. Mr Johnson, who has been head at Wrekin College since 1991, succeeds Christopher Martin, who plans to carry out work on behalf of Students' Partnership Worldwide and the Mental Health Foundation during his retirement. Noted for its sporting achievements the Somerset school, which was founded in 1935 as a crammer for the sons of Indian princes by Jack Meyer, the former Somerset cricketer, includes among its past pupils the sportsmen Duncan Goodhew, Gareth Edwards, Ben Hollioake and Matt Perry.

The University of Greenwich has appointed Mary Stiasny as head of the school of education, based at its Avery Hill campus in south London. Ms Stiasny, a graduate of the London School of Economics and former deputy head of the school of education at Oxford Brookes University will oversee a broad programme of undergraduate and postgraduate teacher education for nearly 1,000 students. She succeeds Christine White who takes up the new post of dean of partnerships and external students at the university, a major centre for teacher training since 1912.

Gavin Tonkin is to be the new chief education officer for Kirklees Metropolitan Council. Mr Tonkin, former head of education strategy and school support, joined the education authority in 1976, during which time he has visited every school in Kirklees. He succeeds Rob Vincent who has been appointed to the executive board.

Sparsholt College, Winchester, Hampshire, has announced the retirement, after 28 years, of its principal Len Norman. Dr Norman, who joined the college in 1970 when there were only 50 students, has seen numbers grow to 1,250 full-time and 2,500 part-time making Sparsholt one of the biggest agricultural colleges in England. He will be succeeded by vice-principal, Tim Jackson who has been a member of staff since 1986.

Alasdair Smith has been appointed vice-chancellor of the University of Sussex succeeding Professor Gordon Conway now president of the Rockefeller Foundation in New York. Professor Smith, 49, the university's sixth vice-chancellor, has been professor of economics since 1981 at Sussex - where he has held a number of other posts including dean of the school of European studies. He is also a well-known international economist who has made a special study on the effects of international trade on national welfare and on the distribution of income. He will serve for an initial period of five years.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now