Who will be the fourth children's laureate?

26th November 2004 at 00:00
TES books editor Geraldine Brennan on the inside literary track

Who will be the fourth children's laureate, stepping into Michael Morpurgo's seven-league boots for two years from next May? Jacqueline Wilson and Michael Rosen spring to mind, but the answer lies partly with the public (children and adults), who can cast their votes at www.childrens laureate.org until December 31. The nominations will be taken into account by the panel of children's books professionals who make the appointment (including Karen Usher, librarian of South Hunsley school in East Yorkshire). The children who write the three nominations the judges like best will be invited to the award ceremony next May. The website also tells you the history of the laureateship and the logo (pictured) by Andrew Davidson, based on Ted Hughes's Iron Man. You can also find out where to catch up with Morpurgo before Christmas.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now