Who's she?

20th October 2000 at 01:00
WHICH union leaders might you expect to find listed in the shiny new Who's Who 2000?

The National Association of Head Teachers' David Hart, Association of Teachers and Lecturers' Peter Smith and NASUWT's Nigel de Gruchy all make the grade, while the National Union of Teachers' Doug Mc-Avoy regularly turns downinvitations.

Notable by her absence is the Professional Association of Teachers' Kay Driver - the only female teaching union leader. It is even stranger considering her predecessor, John Andrews, had an entry. Perhaps the Diary's questioning will prompt the chaps at Who's Who to do the decent thing.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now