Women principals given high honours

19th June 2009 at 01:00

Seven college principals feature in the Queen's Birthday Honours list this year, four of whom are women.

The list is headed by Maggie Galliers, principal of Leicester College, and Elaine McMahon, principal of Hull Group of Colleges, who are both appointed as Commanders of the Order of the British Empire.

Five principals are appointed as Officers of the Order (OBE). They are: Meredydd David, of Reaseheath College, Nantwich, Cheshire; Glyn Jones, of Pembrokeshire College; Fiona Larden, of Fircroft College, Birmingham; Marion Plant, of North Warwickshire and Hinckley College; and Allan Stewart, of Selby College, North Yorkshire.

Dan Taubman, FE official for the University and College Union, is appointed an MBE. He said the award was partly a recognition of the efforts of all who have helped keep adult education going over the years.


Knight Bachelor

Garry Hawkes, president of Edge, for services to business and to vocational training


Maggie Galliers, principal, Leicester College, for services to local and national further education

Elaine McMahon, chief executive and principal, Hull Group of Colleges, for services to local and national FE


Meredydd David, principal, Reaseheath College, Nantwich, Cheshire, for services to local and national FE

John Gray, chairman, Coatbridge College Board of Management, for services to FE and HE

Glyn Jones, principal, Pembrokeshire College, for services to education and to training in Wales

Fiona Larden, principal, Fircroft College, Birmingham, for services to adult education

Hugh MacDonald, assistant director, apprenticeship unit, Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills

Marion Plant, principal and chief executive, North Warwickshire and Hinckley College, for services to FE

Malcolm Read, executive secretary, Joint Information Systems Committee, for services to FE and HE

Allan Stewart, principal, Selby College, North Yorkshire, for services to local and national FE


Diana Farrelly, lifelong learning manager, Armagh campus, Southern Regional College, for services to FE in Northern Ireland

Douglas Hands, chair of governors, Lewisham College, London, for voluntary service to FE

Peter Legg, for services to vocational education and to skills training

Carol MacGruer, study centre co-ordinator, Ayr College, for services to FE and to the community in Ayrshire

Bernard McGill, for services to lifelong learning and to trade unions in the North East

Ivor Moon, for voluntary service to adult education and to the community in the East Midlands

Urvashi Patel, senior executive officer, Adult Basic Skills Strategy Unit, Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills. For public and voluntary service

Jennifer Stiling, vice-chair, Weymouth College Corporation, for services to FE and to the community in Weymouth and Portland, Dorset

Dan Taubman, senior national education official at the University and College Union, for services to adult and further education

William Tyler, chair of governors, North East Essex Adult Community College, for services to adult education.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now