Revealed: Schools leaving the Teachers’ Pension Scheme

Nearly 150 private schools have said they will leave the scheme – is yours on the list?
4th June 2020, 5:02am


Revealed: Schools leaving the Teachers’ Pension Scheme
Pensions: Staff Asked To Sacrifice Pay To Remain In Teachers' Pension Scheme

Nearly 150 schools have notified the Department for Education of their plans to leave the Teachers’ Pension Scheme, Tes has learned.

The list of 149 private schools that have told the DfE they plan to leave the scheme as of 22 May was revealed through a freedom of information request from the NEU teaching union.

Increase: Number of private schools leaving pension scheme up by 54%

News: Exclusive: Private school teacher pension strike threat

Quick read: Private schools could have ‘phased withdrawal’ from teacher pensions 

Many schools have left the scheme because of the pressures of rising employer contribution costs, which increased by 43 per cent last September

The NEU has said that it expects more schools to announce they are leaving in August and September of this year, when the financial impact of the coronavirus outbreak on independent schools will be more apparent. 

As of this May, 149 schools in total have notified the DfE that they intend to leave the scheme. 

While the list includes many smaller independent schools, Wetherby School in London - the Notting Hill prep that Princes William and Harry attended - is also on the list. 

Here is the list in full:

  • Avenue House School Ltd
  • St Christopher’s School
  • The Croft Preparatory School
  • Witham Hall School
  • Chepstow House School
  • Falcons Preparatory School for Boys
  • Falcons School for Girls
  • Hilden Grange School
  • Pembridge Hall School
  • Portland Place School
  • St Anthony’s School
  • St Anthony’s School for Girls
  • The Falcons School
  • Wetherby Kensington
  • Wetherby Preparatory School
  • Wetherby School
  • Wetherby Senior School
  • Plumtree School
  • International School of London in Surrey
  • Great Ballard School Ltd
  • Boundary Oak School
  • Abercorn School Limited
  • Arnold Lodge School
  • Heathfield Knoll School
  • Brooke Priory School
  • Heywood Preparatory School
  • St Faith’s at Ash School
  • Hatherop Castle School
  • St Edward’s School
  • St David’s Prep
  • Mead School
  • Cricklade Manor Prep
  • Westonbirt School
  • Westville House School
  • Sunningdale School
  • Highfield and Brookham Schools
  • Rupert House School
  • Plymouth College
  • Greenbank School
  • Birchfield School
  • Thetford Grammar School Foundation
  • The Firs School
  • Rookwood School Trust Ltd
  • Sandroyd School
  • Marymount International School
  • Twyford School
  • Park School (Bournemouth) Ltd
  • Claire’s Court Schools
  • Prince’s Mead School
  • Castle House School Trust Ltd
  • St Edward’s School
  • Redhill High School
  • Dolphin School
  • Luckley House School Limited
  • Hanford School
  • Cheam School Educational trust
  • Holme Grange School
  • Scarborough College
  • Wychwood School for Girls
  • Rydes Hill Preparatory School
  • St Peter’s School
  • Sinclair House School
  • Holmwood House School Ltd
  • The Webber Independent School
  • Ealing Independent College
  • Skippers Hill Manor Preparatory School
  • Wandsworth Preparatory School
  • Stoke College
  • Horris Hill School
  • Oswestry School
  • Edenhurst School
  • Sherborne House School
  • Elmhurst School
  • Bruern Abbey School
  • The Hampshire School, Chelsea
  • Sherfield School
  • The Gesher School
  • Farlington School
  • Castle Court School
  • Aldro School
  • Longridge Towers School
  • Beaudesert Park School trust Ltd
  • St Margaret’s School (Hampstead) Ltd
  • Cothill House
  • Ashdown House
  • Mowden Hall School
  • Kitebrook House School
  • Barfield School
  • Lockers Park
  • Edge Grove
  • Dulwich Prep Cranbrook
  • Steephill School
  • White Trees Independent School
  • Waverley School
  • Salisbury Cathedral School
  • The British School in the Netherlands
  • Spring Grove School
  • Derby Grammar School
  • Eurocentres Cambridge
  • Eurocentres London Victoria
  • Eurocentres Brighton
  • Eurocentres Bournemouth
  • Eurocentres Lee Green
  • Dover College
  • West Hill Park School
  • Exeter Cathedral School
  • Copthorne School
  • St Wystan’s School
  • St Lawrence College
  • St Andrew’s School
  • The Cavendish School
  • Daneshill School
  • Hollygirt School
  • Ackworth School
  • Gayhurst School
  • Windlesham House School
  • Burgess Hill Girls
  • Hilden Oaks School Educational Trust Ltd
  • Cruckton Hall School
  • Pinewood School
  • St George’s School
  • Longacre School
  • Davenies School
  • St Hugh’s School
  • St John’s College
  • St Dominic’s School
  • Kingswood House School
  • Cumnor House School
  • Unicorn School
  • Farnborough Hill
  • Silcoates School
  • Ashfold School
  • Oakfield Preparatory School
  • Eastbourne College
  • St Andrew’s School
  • Brambletye School
  • Durlston Court School
  • Warminster School
  • Maidwell Hall School
  • Chafyn Grove School
  • Moor Park School
  • Elstree School
  • Oakwood School
  • Micklefield School

You’ve reached your limit of free articles this month

Register for free to read more

You can read two more articles on Tes for free this month if you register using the button below.

Alternatively, you can subscribe for just £1 per month for the next three months and get:

  • Unlimited access to all Tes magazine content
  • Exclusive subscriber-only articles 
  • Email newsletters

Already registered? Log in

You’ve reached your limit of free articles this month

Subscribe to read more

You can subscribe for just £1 per month for the next three months and get:

  • Unlimited access to all Tes magazine content
  • Exclusive subscriber-only articles 
  • Email newsletters