Skip to main content

Best of the FE sector celebrated at prestigious TES FE Awards 2014

The very best of the UK’s further education sector has been celebrated at the prestigious TES FE Awards in the heart of London.

The glittering ceremony saw ten colleges, two individuals and one learning provider take home coveted trophies for their innovative and inspiring work.

The major prize of the night, FE Provider of the Year, went to Walsall College, which last February became the first FE college in the country to be graded outstanding under the new Ofsted framework.

After a remarkable transformation, the TES FE Awards judges said that Walsall had demonstrated exceptional performance and epitomised the strengths of FE.

“It is a fantastic college that has done a wonderful job,” was the judges’ verdict.

Ros Morpeth, chief executive of the National Extension College (NEC), was named FE Leader of the Year for her “tenacity and inspirational leadership”.

She came out of retirement to rescue the ailing NEC from administration some eight years after she originally retired as its chief executive, ensuring that it has a bright future once more.

“There are lots of outstanding leaders, but only one miracle worker,” the judges said.

The winner of the lifetime achievement award was described by judges as an “unsung hero” for her incredible contribution to the sector over the last four decades.

Jayne Walker, director of student support at East Kent College, has been unwavering in her determination to get the best possible outcomes for all students, resulting in her student support team being recognised by Ofsted as an outstanding feature of the college.

She has implemented many significant changes, including giving students a greater role in decision-making, establishing the role of paid student union president and developing a new tutorial system.

TES editor Ann Mroz described all the winners as “a roll call of the most imaginative, innovative and inspiring professionals and institutions to be found in this impressive sector.”

TES FE Awards 2014 winners in full:

FE Provider of the Year – Walsall College

FE Leader of the Year – Ros Morpeth, National Extension College

Lifetime Achievement Award – Jayne Walker, East Kent College

Sporting Initiative Award – Ealing, Hammersmith and West London College

Initiative for Lifelong Learning Widening Participation Award – Adult, Family and Community Learning, Doncaster

Contribution to the Local Community Award – Bournville College Birmingham

Marketing/Communications Campaign of the Year –  Blackburn College

University HE Access Widening Participation Award – Edinburgh College

Support for Students Award – Barking and Dagenham College

Outstanding Use of Technology in FE – Hull College

Employer Engagement Award – Bridgwater College

Teaching and Learning Initiative Award – Pembrokeshire College

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year – Richard Reid, Forth Valley College


Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you