Need to know: The 9-1 GCSE grades

The new 9-1 numerical GCSE grading system explained

GCSE 9-1

It will be GCSE results day on Thursday, and this year pupils in England will see more of their qualifications awarded under the government's new 9-1 grading system. 

The 9-1 grades were introduced for the first time last year in maths, English language and English literature, and this year they will be applied to results in 20 additional reformed subjects.

The highest grade under the system is 9 and the lowest is 1.

GCSE grade changes

The grading system offers greater stretch for candidates at the top end, with a 9 higher than the old A*.

It is not easy to make direct comparisons between the numerical grades and the old alphabetical system, except at three points. 

Grade 1 has been tied to the old grade G, grade 4 has been tied to the bottom end of the old grade C and grade 7 to the bottom of the old A.

Under Ofqual's comparable outcomes system, a broadly similar profile of grades will be awarded as in previous years, assuming the cohort has similar prior attainment.

GCSE 9-1 grades

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you