Tes FE Awards 2019 open for entries

The AoC Beacon Awards, which will be presented alongside the Tes FE Awards for the first time, also launch today

George Ryan

Tes FE awards AoC beacon awards colleges FE

In 2014, Alison Scattergood became the first woman to be named a British Master Barber. Last year, she was accepted as a member of the prestigious Fellowship for British Hairdressing.

But the lecturer at East Durham College was in no doubt as to the pinnacle of her working life to date: being named teacher of the year at the Tes FE Awards 2018, in front of more than 800 guests at the Grosvenor House hotel on London’s Park Lane. “I’m truly thrilled,” she said. “This is the best achievement in my career. Teaching is hard work but very rewarding. Being recognised like this and receiving this award is just the best feeling ever.”

Now, the race is on to find the winners of the Tes FE Awards 2019, sponsored by the Education and Training Foundation. From the outstanding leaders responsible for transforming the fortunes of their organisations, to the unsung heroes working tirelessly behind the scenes, the “Oscars of FE” shine a light on the very best that the sector has to offer.

And next year’s event promises to be the biggest yet. For the first time, the Tes FE Awards ceremony will include the presentation of the Association of Colleges’ (AoC) Beacon Awards, in a celebration of outstanding achievement across further education.

While the Tes FE Awards will focus on celebrating the success of FE providers and the individuals behind their achievements, the Beacon Awards will acknowledge best practice in college teaching, management and governance. Founded in 1994, the Beacon Awards showcase the most innovative colleges across the UK. The two sets of awards will maintain separate entry and judging processes.

Apprenticeships and skills minister Anne Milton said: “The Tes FE Awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate and recognise excellence across the further education sector. Together, our FE providers and the many thousands of people that are behind them make sure that everyone is equipped with the skills that they need to get on in life. FE providers change lives.”

Tes FE editor Stephen Exley said: “I am delighted to work alongside the AoC to recognise and celebrate the exceptional work being done by FE providers across the UK.

“The Tes FE Awards have gone from strength to strength in recent years. In 2018, they received a record number of entries, and the prestigious awards ceremony – dubbed the ‘Oscars of FE’ – attracted more guests than ever before. The two sets of awards share the goal of ensuring that the FE sector receives the attention and plaudits that it so richly deserves.”

AoC chair Carole Stott said: “The AoC Beacon Awards capture and celebrate the best and most innovative practice among UK further education colleges, and the Tes FE Awards continue to go from strength to strength each year.

“Every year the Beacon Awards receive excellent submissions and we hope that, with a simpler first stage for applications, even more colleges will apply this year.

“Last year, the entries demonstrated the commitment of colleges to create the best possible experience for their students. We are sure that along with the Tes FE Awards, we’ll see more great applications this year.”

Tes FE Awards categories

  • Lifetime achievement
  • FE leader of the year
  • Teacher of the year
  • Apprenticeship programme of the year
  • Professional services team of the year
  • Training provider of the year
  • FE college of the year
  • Sixth-form college of the year
  • Specialist provider of the year
  • Adult and community learning provider of the year
  • Overall provider of the year (chosen from winners of the last five categories)

AoC Beacon Awards categories

  • Support for learners award
  • Skills and Education Group award for social mobility and widening participation
  • Effective use of technology in further education award
  • College engagement with employers award
  • Edge Award for excellence in the practical delivery of technical and professional learning
  • AoC mental health and wellbeing award
  • Careers and Enterprise Company careers education and guidance award 
  • British Council international award 

How to enter

The AoC Beacon Awards will be open to all colleges across the UK, while the Tes FE Awards will continue to be open to all types of FE provider. The deadline for entering the Tes FE Awards will be Friday 6, July, while the deadline for entering the AoC Beacon Awards will be Friday, 20 July. Please note that the two sets of awards have separate application and assessment processes. The Beacon Awards judging process also includes a visit by assessors to colleges included on the shortlist.

Shortlists for the two sets of awards will be revealed at the AoC Annual Conference on 20 November. The winners will then be announced at a glittering awards ceremony at the Grosvenor House hotel in London’s Park Lane on 22 March 2019.

For more information about the awards and its sponsors, as well as full details about how to enter, visit tesfeawards.co.uk. To enter the Beacon Awards, visit www.aoc.co.uk/beaconawards

Register to continue reading for free

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you

George Ryan

George Ryan

George Ryan is a further education reporter for tes

Find me on Twitter @GeorgeMRyan

Latest stories