Tes FE Awards 2021: Meet the judges

The countdown to the Tes FE Awards 2021 has begun – and here we reveal our esteemed group of judges

Tes Reporter

Tes FE Awards 2021: Meet the judges

The judges for this year’s Tes FE Awards have been revealed.

The awards, which will take place online on 28 May, turn the spotlight on to the achievements of the sector, and recognise outstanding individuals and institutions in FE: from the best specialist providers to colleges going the extra mile in supporting their community; from amazing apprenticeship programmes to excellent use of technology in supporting teaching and learning. 

Meet Helena Good: Tes FE's teacher of the year

Meet Ruth Spellman: Architect of lifelong learning

Meet Sam Parrett: FE's leader of the year 2020

There are 18 categories to enter, and the winners will be decided by our judges – each of them a leader in the sector. This year they are: 

Tes FE Awards 2021: The judges

  • Jennifer Coupland, chief executive of the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education (IfATE)
  • David Hughes, chief executive of the Association of Colleges
  • Sue Pember, director of policy at HOLEX
  • Ian Pretty, chief executive of the Collab Group
  • Lynette Barrett, chief operations officer at National Star and chair of Natspec
  • Jim Metcalfe, chief executive of the College Development Network
  • Helena Good, a graphic design lecturer at Edinburgh College on secondment with Skills Development Scotland and Tes' FE teacher of the year 2020
  • Jeff Greenidge, director of diversity at the Association of Colleges and Education and Training Foundation
  • Fiona Aldridge,  director for policy and research at the Learning and Work Institute
  • Bill Watkin, chief executive of the Sixth Form Colleges Association 
  • Marie Therese McGivern, former principal and chief executive of Belfast Metropolitan College, and non-executive director of the Strategic Investment Board for Northern Ireland
  • Bob Harrison, chair of Northern College and governor at Oldham College
  • Vicky Duckworth, professor of further education at Edge Hill University 
  • David Russell, chief executive of the Education and Training Foundation
  • Jane Hickie, chief executive of Association of Employment and Learning Providers
  • Neil Bentley-Gockmann, chief executive of WorldSkills UK
  • Cindy Rampersaud, senior vice-president, apprenticeships and Btecs, at Pearson

Entries for this year’s awards close on Friday 5 March at midnight. You can enter here.

Register to continue reading for free

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you

Tes Reporter

Latest stories