Tes Schools Awards 2019: The winners

The full list of winners for this year's Tes Schools Awards

Tes Awards 2019

The good and the great in the world of education gathered in London tonight for one of the biggest evenings in the education calendar: the Tes Schools Awards 2019.

The awards, which celebrate commitment, quality and innovation shown by teachers and support staff across the UK, have 19 categories. They include primary, secondary, and healthy schools of the year. New for 2019 are the Teaching Assistant of the Year and School Business Manager of the Year awards.

Hosted by comedian Harry Hill, the gala ceremony took place at London’s Grosvenor House hotel, in Park Lane.

Education secretary Damian Hinds told guests: "It is truly a unique job being a teacher and, among that extraordinary group of people, we have in this room the winners and the nominees of the Tes awards - the yet more extraordinary - and I do think it is important that we take moments like this to celebrate these truly extraordinary exemplars – the teachers, the leaders, the support staff and the schools in what you do helping to inspire your colleagues and others schools, and most of all, of course, inspire the next generation.”

The overall school of the year award was won by Meadow View Farm School, Leicestershire, while Teresa Roche, headteacher of Dronfield Henry Fanshawe School, in Derbyshire, was honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Tes editor Anne Mroz said: "Schools and teachers are vital to the future of this country. What you do is so important for children, for families, for all of us. I for one am proud to work with you.

“This year, we have been inundated with entries. The standard has been sky-high. So, take a bow, all you shortlisted teachers and schools, because even if you don’t pick up an award tonight, as far as I’m concerned, you’re all winners."

The late Baroness Mary Warnock has been honoured with the Special Services to Education award. She remained one of the most influential voices in the area of special educational needs and disability (SEND) right up until her death, aged 94, in March this year.         

The full list of winners is:

Early years setting of the year

Little Forest Folk Wimbledon, west London


Primary school of the year

Grendon Church of England Primary School, Northamptonshire


Secondary school of the year

Cathedral Academy, Wakefield


Alternative provision school of the year

Meadow View Farm School, Leicestershire


New teacher of the year

Abed Ahmed, of Washwood Heath Academy, Birmingham


Headteacher of the year

Naveed Idrees of Feversham Primary Academy,  Bradford,


English teacher or team of the year

Joseph Cash Primary School, Coventry


Innovative use of technology to influence outcomes

Oxfordshire Hospital School


Maths teacher or team of the year

The Totteridge Academy, Barnet


Science, technology and engineering teacher or team of the year

Tapton School Academy Trust and Fields of Learning, Sheffield


International award

The Observatory School, Wirral


Sustainable schools award

St Colm’s High School, County Londonderry


Community and collaboration award

Bradford Academy


Healthy school of the year

Fairfield Primary School, the Lake District


Creative school of the year

Admiral Lord Nelson School, Portsmouth


Overall school of the year

Meadow View Farm School, Leicestershire


Classroom support assistant of the year

Aimee Durning, University of Cambridge Primary School, Cambridge


School business manager of the year

Mark Reed, Academy@Worden School, in Leyland, Lancashire


Lifetime achievement award

Teresa Roche - headteacher of Dronfield Henry Fanshawe School in Derbyshire


Special services to education award

Baroness Mary Warnock

Register to continue reading for free

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you

Dave Speck

Dave Speck is a reporter at Tes

Find me on Twitter @Specktator100

Latest stories