T levels: how will they be graded?

T-level grades will be based on performance in the technical qualification: the core component and the occupational specialism

Kate Parker

T levels: City and Guilds and Pearson win 2022 contract

This time next year, T levels will be well underway in 50 further education providers across the country.

To begin with, just three T levels will be taught: digital, construction and education and childcare. But by 2023, 25 T levels will be available to study. They're to be the gold-standard of vocational education, and on a par with A levels. 

The Department for Education announced in August that a distinction would be given the same Ucas points as 3As at A level (144).  But how will they be graded?

T levels: what are they?

T levels: where can I study them?

T levels: when will they be introduced?

To be awarded a T-level certificate, students must pass both components of their technical qualification (TQ), complete an industry placement, achieve level 2 English and maths and meet any other requirements set by the T-level panel within the Institute. 

But, when it comes to the grade they'll achieve, it will all be down to students' performance in the TQ.  This is made up of the core component and the occupational specialism.  A scores-based algorithm will determine overall grades for each T level, and will be based on: 

  • The comparative size of the core (could be between 20 and 50 per cent), and the occupational specialism (50 to 80 per cent). 

  • The grade for the core (A*-E) and the occupational specialism (pass, merit or distinction).

T levels: what subjects can you take?

T levels: what grades will you need to study them?

T levels: how are they funded?

T levels will vary in size – depending on the size of the TQ and whether or not students need to resit GCSE English and maths or undertake a level 2 in functional skills for either subject . 

T level grading

T level grading

Students could earn an overall grade of distinction*, if they gain an A* on the core component and a distinction on their occupational specialism.

T-level certificates 

On the final certificate, the separate grades for the core component and occupational specialism will be listed, as well as the overall grade. 

The Department for Education’s 2019 Action Plan, says that the T-level certificate will reflect the student’s full range of achievements and experience, and make these visible to employers. 

If a student leaves the T level early, or does not pass all of the elements, they will receive a statement of achievement confirming which requirements have been met. 

Register to continue reading for free

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you

headshot KP

Kate Parker

Kate Parker is a FE reporter.

Find me on Twitter @KateeParker

Latest stories

EAL: How teachers can support new pupils who have English as an additional language

5 steps to help a new EAL learner

Integrating non-native speakers into the classroom is an important job for any teacher – one literacy lead offers advice
Laura May Rowlands 28 Oct 2020