Tes Schools Awards 2020 winners announced

Tonight saw education's favourite party move online to celebrate some amazing achievements

Claudia Civinini

Tes Schools Awards 2020

It’s been quite the year. Teachers and the whole schools sector deserved a proper celebration. 

And tonight, the Tes Schools Awards gave them one, recognising inspirational teachers, leaders and schools from across the country.

Education's party may have moved online for the first time but there was no shortage of glitz and glamour.

Tes Schools Awards 2020: Who's made the shortlist?

Hosted by Alan Dedicoat, the voice of Strictly Come Dancing, the ceremony started with a special show by the cast of Disney’s The Lion King before honouring the achievements of some incredible schools.

There were 18 winners tonight. But the ceremony was a celebration and tribute to school staff everywhere for managing to keep the nation’s children’s education going in the most unimaginable of circumstances.

Tes editor Ann Mroz said in her speech: “We toast our very worthy winners but we also toast every single one of you in our schools. We’re proud of you and we thank you from the bottom of our hearts.”

Thanks came also from across the political spectrum. Education secretary Gavin Williamson said in a special video message: “Massive congratulations to all the nominees and award winners. It’s been an incredibly tough year, as we have responded to the pandemic.

"The way in which teachers, support staff, leaders and school communities have come together to rise to that challenge has been nothing short of astonishing."

Labour shadow secretary of state for education Kate Green and shadow minister for schools Wes Streeting also sent their congratulations via video message to everyone working in schools.

“You have gone the extra mile in the most difficult circumstances, we can’t thank you enough,” Mr Streeting said.

The standard of entries was "high and, indeed in some cases, exceptional," Ms Mroz said.

The inspirational stories included Hunter’s Bar Infant School which built its own green wall to improve air quality, and an Ifield Community College and Ardingly College project that sent students competing across Australia on solar-powered cars they had built themselves.

And there's Siddiqa Mubashar, a trailblazing teacher who passed away recently and was recognised with the lifetime achievement award.

And Yvonne Conolly, the first black female headteacher in the UK, recognised with the Tes Services to Education Award.

She was congratulated in a video message by Katharine Birbalsingh, head of Michaela School in north London, Laura Henry-Allain, early years consultant and Tes Schools Awards judge, and Sir Steve Lancashire, CEO of Reach2 Academy Trust.

Ms Birbalsingh said in the video: "I take my hat off to you, and to my parents, and to those of your generation who stood before us know and paved the way."

There are many more inspirational stories behind the winners: here is the full list.

Services to education award

  •         Yvonne Conolly

Classroom support assistant of the year

•            Julie Hayes – The Heath School

School business leader of the year

•            Louise Barber – Discovery Schools Academy Trust

New teacher of the year

•            Alysha Allen – Brimsdown Primary School

Headteacher of the year

•            Evelyn Forde - Copthall School

Creative school of the year

•            Manchester Secondary Pupil Referral Unit

Maths teacher or team of the year

•            Penketh High School

English teacher or team of the year

•            Forest Gate Community School

Science, technology and engineering teacher or team of the year 

•            Ifield Community College and Ardingly College

Lifetime achievement award

•            Siddiqa Mubashar

Best use of technology 

•            Hospital and Outreach Education AP Academy

Community and collaboration award

•            St Colm’s High School Draperstown – Ballinascreen Intergenerational Project

Environment champion of the year

•            Catherine Carr – Hunter’s Bar Infant School 

Wellbeing and mental health award

•            Kensington Primary School 

Alternative provision school of the year

•            Stone Soup Academy 

Early years setting of the year

•            Riccarton Early Childhood Centre 

Primary school of the year

•            Broad Heath Primary School 

Secondary school of the year

•            Heartlands E-ACT Academy

Overall school of the year

•            Heartlands E-ACT Academy

Register to continue reading for free

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you

Claudia Civinini

Claudia Civinini

Find me on Twitter @claudiacivinini

Latest stories