T levels: everything you need to know

Your one-stop-shop for all the information you need on the new technical qualifications

Kate Parker

T level industry placements should be more flexible, warns NFER

There’s less than a year to go until the first T levels are rolled out in 50 providers across the UK. And, as with any new major qualification, there’s a lot of information to digest. 

To save you trawling through pages and pages of documents, we’ve gathered everything you need to know for you right here. 

Let’s start at the very beginning: 

What are T levels?

T levels are new technical qualifications for students aged 16 and over. For more information, click here

When will T levels be introduced?

T levels are being introduced gradually over the next three years. Some courses will be available in 2020, and more will be added in 2021, 2022 and 2023. Full details can be found here

Where can you study T levels?

By 2021, there will be 113 providers offering T levels. Click here for the full list.

What subjects will be available?

Eventually there will be 25 T levels to choose from. For more details about the courses, click here

What grades are needed to study T levels?

The majority of the first 50 providers have now set their entry requirements for the courses, and they vary from college to college. The full list can be found here.  

How will T levels be graded?

T levels courses last two years, and students will be given a certificate at the end with their full marks on. To find out how the marks will be calculated, click here

Register to continue reading for free

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you

headshot KP

Kate Parker

Kate Parker is a FE reporter.

Find me on Twitter @KateeParker

Latest stories