Tes Schools Awards winners revealed

Tes reveals the winners of the Tes Schools Awards 2022 at a gala event in London.

June 2022

It was a night to celebrate for teachers and schools across the UK as the winners were announced at the Tes Schools Awards, one of the biggest nights in the UK education calendar which was held on Friday 17th June.

The Tes Schools Awards, now in its 14th year, celebrates the extraordinary commitment, quality and innovation shown by teachers and support staff across the UK.

The Tes Schools Awards were held at the Grosvenor Hotel, on London’s Park Lane. They were held in person for the first time in three years, after two virtual ceremonies.

For the first time, the 2022 Tes Schools Awards brought together the best teachers and schools from all UK state and independent settings, including early years, primary schools and secondary schools.

The winners of the 2022 Tes Schools Awards are:

  • Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Setting of the Year: Woolenwick Infant and Nursery School, Stevenage
  • Primary School of the Year: Briar Hill Primary School, Northampton
  • Secondary School of the Year: Hazelwood Integrated College, Belfast
  • Specialist Provision School of the Year: Everton Free School, Liverpool
  • Independent Prep School of the Year: Greenfield School, Surrey
  • Independent Senior School of the Year: St Dunstan's College, London
  • Boarding School of the Year: Gordon's School, Surrey
  • Headteacher of the Year: Arthur Barzey – Heron Hall Academy, Enfield, London
  • Teaching Assistant of the Year: Jack Turner – Everton Free School, Liverpool
  • Subject Lead of the Year (Primary): Gill Fitzpatrick – Beech Hill Community Primary School, Wigan
  • Subject Lead of the Year (Secondary): Jon Dean – Truro High School for Girls, Truro
  • Subject Lead of the Year (Specialist Provision): Helen Devereux Murray – Eastbury Community School, Barking, London
  • Send Provision in a Mainstream Setting of the Year: Lime Tree Primary Academy, Manchester
  • Pupil Mental Health Initiative of the Year: Maricourt Catholic High School, Liverpool
  • School Business Leader of the Year: Wendy Mason – The Laurus Trust, Greater Manchester
  • Resource of the Year: Sonrie in Spanish
  • Community Engagement Initiative of the Year: The Gosport and Fareham Multi-Academy Trust (GFM), Hampshire
  • School of the Year for Staff Wellbeing: Kirton Primary School, Boston, Lincolnshire
  • Best Use of Technology: The Glasgow Academy, Glasgow
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Hilary Shergold – Millfield School, Somerset

Chief judge of the Tes Schools Awards and Editor of Tes magazine Jon Severs said:

“The Tes Schools Awards are the Oscars of education, recognising and celebrating everything that’s great about our schools and school staff. We had so many entries from teachers and schools across the country; choosing the winners was no easy task. Congratulations to the winning schools and thank you to all school staff who do such vital work every day.”

Read about the Tes Schools Awards winners | Tes Magazine

You can also find galleries and more information about this year's winners on the Tes Schools Awards website.

Notes to Editors 

For more information please contact: 

Katy Gandon, Communications Director, Tes katy.gandon@tes.com

About Tes

Tes powers schools and enables great teaching worldwide, by creating intelligent online products and services to make the greatest difference in education. 

For more than 100 years, we’ve supported schools and been a champion of great teaching. As education is changing, so are we. We’ve grown to provide a wide range of products to help schools and students flourish. 

We work together with teachers and schools to build trusted education solutions that help them to be the best they can be. From safeguarding and compliance, to staff and pupil management, our innovative and flexible services help teachers and school leaders worldwide to provide the best education to millions of children. 

We’re a global company employing over 600 people in 9 offices, in locations including London, Sheffield, Hong Kong, Melbourne, Sydney, and Dubai.