Animal Lifecycles PowerPoint and Student Interactive Notebook Lesson
EQ: How Do Animals Change and Grow? This lesson addresses the 4th and 5th grade standards: Compare and contrast the major stages in the life cycles of animals, such as those that undergo incomplete and complete metamorphosis. In this lesson students will, explore life cycles of various animals, describe complete metamorphosis (4 stages) using animals that undergo this change, describe incomplete metamorphosis (3 stages) using animals that undergo this change, compare and contrast differences in body structures of the different stages (egg, larva, pupa, adult, nymph).
This is a bundled lesson that includes the student interactive notes and the colorful and engaging fifteen slide Power Point presentation. Student discussions (Turn and Talks) embedded in presentation, and a link to a short video clip to finish lesson with a visual recap. Everything you need to teach the lesson!

This is a 4th grade standard, but it assessed on the annual 5th grade state benchmark exam.

If you are looking for the life cycle of plants, flowering and non-flowering, see my Plant Growth, Reproduction and Life Cycle Lessons with Interactive Student Notes.
Save for later

About this resource


Created: Nov 20, 2016

Updated: Feb 22, 2018

Lesson Plan

zip, 19 MB


Report a problem

Tes Paid License

How can I re-use this?