Hero image

68Uploads

43k+Views

30k+Downloads

Code Name Kingfisher teaching resources (WW2/History)
SimonKidsUKSimonKidsUK

Code Name Kingfisher teaching resources (WW2/History)

(0)
Explores Themes of: ✓ Holland during the Second World War ✓ Resistance ✓ Identity ✓ Family Subject Checklist: ✓ Literacy ✓ History ✓ Art and design ✓ PSHE ABOUT THE BOOK From million-copy bestselling author Liz Kessler comes the powerful new landmark Second World War novel for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Phil Earle. When Liv finds a secret box from her grandmother’s childhood she uncovers an extraordinary wartime story of bravery, betrayal and daring defiance. A story that will change Liv and her family forever… Holland, 1942. The world is at war and as the Nazis’ power grows, Jewish families are in terrible danger. Twelve-year-old Mila and her older sister Hannie are sent to live with a family in another city with new identities and the strict instruction not to tell anyone that they are Jewish. Hannie, determined to fight back, is swept into the Dutch resistance as an undercover agent: Code Name Kingfisher. And though Mila does her best to make friends and keep out of trouble, there is danger at every turn and the sisters are soon left questioning who they can trust… CONTENTS: • Part 1 – Pre-reading Prompts • Part 2 – Key Themes • Part 3 – Spotlight Extracts and Activities • Extract 1: Nazi-occupied Holland • Extract 2: Hannie • Extract 3: Bubbe’s Box Created by Shapes for Schools in collaboration with Simon & Schuster and Liz Kessler
Prisoners of Geography: Our World Explained in 12 Simple Maps
SimonKidsUKSimonKidsUK

Prisoners of Geography: Our World Explained in 12 Simple Maps

(3)
Ideas, questions and teaching topics for ‘Prisoners of Geography: Our World Explained in 12 Simple Maps’ - an abridged and illustrated edition of the international bestseller Prisoners of Geography, by acclaimed author Tim Marshall. How did the USA become a superpower? Why do people go to war? And why are some countries rich while others are so poor? Find the answers to these questions and many more in this eye-opening book, which uses maps to explain how geography has shaped the history of our world. Discover how the choices of world leaders are swayed by mountains, rivers and seas - and why geography means that history is always repeating itself. This remarkable, unique introduction to world affairs will inspire curious minds everywhere.
When the World Was Ours - Holocaust story
SimonKidsUKSimonKidsUK

When the World Was Ours - Holocaust story

(2)
When the World Was Ours by Liz Kessler Extracts and notes for KS3 & KS4 Suitable for ages 12+ A powerful and heart-breaking novel about three childhood friends living during the Second World War whose fates are closely intertwined, even when their lives take very different courses. Three friends. Two sides. One memory. Vienna. 1936. Three young friends – Leo, Elsa and Max – spend a perfect day together, unaware that around them Europe is descending into a growing darkness, and that events soon mean that they will be cruelly ripped apart from each other. With their lives taking them across Europe – to Germany, England, Prague and Poland – will they ever find their way back to each other? Will they want to? Inspired by a true story, WHEN THE WORLD WAS OURS is an extraordinary novel that is as powerful as it is heartbreaking, and shows how the bonds of love, family and friendship allow glimmers of hope to flourish, even in the most hopeless of times. A Sunday Times Children’s Book of the Week, this is the perfect story for readers of Private Peaceful, The Book Thief and Anne Frank’s The Diary of a Young Girl.
The Little Match Girl Strikes Back
SimonKidsUKSimonKidsUK

The Little Match Girl Strikes Back

(0)
A defiant and empowering retelling of the classic you thought you knew by bestselling and much-loved authors Emma Carroll and Lauren Child. Based on a real Match Factory Strike in 1888 at the Bryant and May Match Factory in Bow, East London, this stunning collaboration brought to life in glorious spot colour introduces a bold new heroine for future generations to treasure. Chapter-by-chapter comprehensive questions, cross-curricular activities and writing opportunites. Written by Scott Evans (@MrEPrimary) for primary school years 3-5.