TES Global supports the second annual Digital Innovation in Learning Awards

Tes Global article image

Digital Promise and EdSurge today announced the launch of the second annual Digital Innovation in Learning Awards (DILAs), made possible with support from CK12, Curriculum Associates, McGraw Hill Education, Qualcomm Education, Inc., Scholastic and TES Global. The DILAs celebrate education innovators everywhere by spotlighting those making outstanding contributions to education and by sharing their practices.

“So many people and organizations are using innovative technology and teaching practices to ensure all students get a high-quality education, making an impact that isn’t widely recognized. said Karen Cator, President and CEO of Digital Promise. “The DILAs aim to change that by surfacing, spotlighting and widely sharing their work.

“There’s a kind of magic involved with bringing together three critical communities — teachers, administrators and organizations that are building tools and services,” says Betsy Corcoran, cofounder and CEO of EdSurge. “Each of these groups are learning from — and teaching — one another.”

"TES Global is proud to support the awards in 2015. We believe that teachers are the real experts in education and we're delighted to be able to help celebrate teachers that are really pushing the boundaries in digital innovation in the classroom," says Tom Glover, Communications Director of TES Global. "Watch out for the award for the teacher that demonstrates the best and open sharing of resources with their peers and professional communities. It's something that's very close to our hearts."

In the awards program, educators, administrators, and organizations are invited to submit videos that showcase their work. Winners in 15 categories will be chosen and hosted at a gala celebration in Silicon Valley. EdSurge and Digital Promise will also share the videos with the world. Last year’s winning video submissions can be found here.

There are five awards categories each to recognize educators, administrators, and organizations. A list of all fifteen can be found here, including five that are new for 2015.

The program is also supported by a group of judges who are pioneering thinkers and practitioners in education. Judges donate time each year to review, score and select all the submissions. This year’s judges include:

  • Jaime Casap, Global Education Evangelist, Google, Inc.
  • Rafranz Davis, Instructional Technology Specialist, Arlington ISD, Texas
  • Byron Garrett, Director of Educational Leadership & Policy, Microsoft
  • Brian Greenberg, CEO, Silicon Schools Fund
  • Michael Horn, Co-Founder and Executive Director for Education, Christensen Institute
  • Rachel Iufer, Science Teacher, Saint Lawrence Academy, California
  • Michael Levine, Executive Director, Joan Ganz Cooney Center at Sesame Workshop
  • Mike Lorion, General Manager for Education, Common Sense Media
  • Jennie Magiera, Digital Learning Coordinator, Academy for Urban School Leadership, Illinois
  • Aileen Owens, Director of Technology and Innovation, South Fayette Township School District, Pennsylvania
  • Linda Roberts, Founding Director, U.S. Department of Education Office of Educational Technology
  • Diane Tavenner, Co-Founder and CEO, Summit Public Schools
  • Tom Vander Ark, CEO, Getting Smart and Partner, Learn Capital
  • Joanne Weiss, Education Consultant & Former Chief of Staff to U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan
  • Bob Wise, President, Alliance for Excellent Education and Former Governor of West Virginia
  • Esther Wojcicki, Teacher, Palo Alto High School and Vice Chair, Creative Commons

Final videos and applications must be submitted through the Digital Innovation in Learning Awards website by August 24. Winners will be notified in October. The gala celebration will be held on November 20 at the Computer History Museum in Mountain View, CA.

Learn more about the awards on the DILAs website. For updates on the awards and other opportunities from EdSurge and Digital Promise, sign up for the awards mailing list.